I have no idea what is today’s letter is for the A to Z writing challenge.  I made it to letter I, and then stopped. Life got in the way, and then it was hard to find a way back in. Thinking about it made me feel a bit panicky, so I avoided WordPress altogether. I even stopped reading other people’s posts.

But, for whatever reason, the aversion has passed.  This post is not about dwelling on how I didn’t complete the challenge, because bemoaning my (not) writing is counterproductive.  April was a busy month. I had a lot of papers to finish for grad school. And maybe blogging every day is always going to be too much for me, regardless of what else is going on.  Maybe I need more realistic blogging goals.  This blog is still a work-in-progress. And I’m here today, and that feels good.

It’s a Friday morning in spring, and the pink buds have popped on the apple tree outside my window. The chickadees are at the birdfeeder. I’m reading a good book, and making daily progress on a long-languishing academic article. Tonight, I’m going to hear to Barry Lopez speak at the Tattered Cover.  All of that feels good, too.

 

 

 

One thought on “On Not Completing the AtoZ Challenge

  1. Never mind. The great thing is to participate. A whole month is a lot to take on. And we barely have time to visit other blogs. Weekly challenges are sometimes best suited ! I know I will not be embarking on another monthly challenge soon…too much catching up to do ! Keep blogging, keep writing ✍️You have followers !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment